Programme Autumn 2017

on Thursdays at 12.00  in Presidentti auditorium, Mauno Conference Center, BioCity, Tykistökatu 6, unless otherwise stated

on Thursdays at 12.00  in Presidentti auditorium, Mauno Conference Center, BioCity, Tykistökatu 6, unless otherwise stated

September

September 7th
Arje Scheinin auditorium, Dentalia, Lemminkäisenkatu 2
Dr. Eugene V Koonin, National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine, NIH, Bethesda, USA:
Mobile genetic elements and evolution of CRISPR-Cas systems: all the way there and back 
Host: Pere Puigbo (pepuav(at)utu.fi) (CompLifeSci)

Monday September 25th, in collaboration with TCRS Drug Discovery Symposium
Dr. Marc Therrien, Université de Montréal, Montreal, Quebec, Canada:
Structural characterization and pharmacological targeting of dimerization-induced RAF activation
Host: Daniel Abankwa (dabankwa(at)abo.fi )

October

October 5th
Prof. Antti Poso, University of Eastern Finland, School of Pharmacy; Distinguished Guest Professor at the University of Tübingen in Germany:
From drug design to target selection: developing new anti-cancer and CNS-targeting compounds
Host: Outi Salo-Ahen (outi.salo-ahen(at)abo.fi)

October 12th
Arje Scheinin auditorium, Dentalia, Lemminkäisenkatu 2
Prof. Ville Kaila, Department of Chemistry, Technical University of Munich, Germany:
Exploring molecular mechanisms in biological energy conversion
Host: Paula Mulo (paula.mulo(at)utu.fi) (SmartBio)

October 26th
Prof. Mads Gyrd-Hansen, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK:
Ubiquitin signalling in inflammation 
Host: Annika Meinander (annika.meinander(at)abo.fi) (Receptor)

November

November 2nd
Prof. Michael Hottiger
, Department of Molecular Mechanisms of Disease, University of Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland:
Uncovering the functional role of protein ADP-ribosylation on the proteome-wide level
Host: Arto Pulliainen (arto.pulliainen(at)utu.fi) (TIDIRP)

Tuesday, November 7th
Prof. Mihai Netea, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Radboud University, Nijmegen, Netherlands:
Trained immunity: adaptation and memory in innate immune responses
Host: Riitta Lahesmaa (rilahes(at)utu.fi)

November 16th
Prof. Andrew Cant
, Institute of Cellular Medicine, University of Newcastle, UK:
Primary immunodeficiency: New understandings and new treatments
Host: Ville Peltola (ville.peltola(at)utu.fi)

November 23rd
Prof. Duane A. Compton
, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, Hanover, USA:
Causes and consequences of chromosomal instability in cancer
Host: Sofia Pruikkonen (sofia.pruikkonen(at)utu.fi) (Doctoral Programme slot)

November 30th
Prof. Robert Viger
, Laval University, Quebec, Canada
Understanding gonadal development and function: what we can learn from transcription studies
Hosts: Nafis Rahman and Jorma Toppari (Lifespan slot)

December

December 21st
Prof. John Marshall, Barts Cancer Institute, London, UK:
Development of imaging and therapy of cancer by targeting integrin alpha-v beta-6
Host: Johanna Ivaska (Receptor slot)