Programme Autumn 2019

 

September 5th   In Pharmacity auditorium

Prof. Jukka Corander, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway
How do bacterial populations evolve in reality? Some answers and their applications to vaccine optimization

Host: Jaana Vuopio (jaana.vuopio@utu.fi)

 

October 3rd

Dr. Andrew South, Jefferson College of Life Sciences, Philadelphia, USA
Signatures of mutation in squamous cell carcinoma

Host: Veli-Matti Kähäri (velkah@utu.fi )

 

October 10th

Prof. Yvan Saeys, Inflammation Research Center, VIB-UGent, Belgium
Machine learning challenges for single-cell omics data

Host: Tomi Suomi (tomi.suomi@utu.fi)

 

October 31st  

Dr. Anne-Claude Gavin, EMBL, Heidelberg, Germany
Lipid metabolism: connecting the dots

Host: Karolina Pavic (karolina.pavic@utu.fi)

 

November 14th

Prof. Mark Sansom, Department of Biochemistry, University of Oxford, UK
Membrane protein interactions and function viewed by molecular simulations

Host: Parthiban Marimuthu (Parthiban.Marimuthu@abo.fi)

 

November 21st

Prof. Merja Penttilä, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, Espoo, Finland
Synthetic biology – powering bioeconomy

Host: Paula Mulo (pmulo@utu.fi)

 

November 28th

Prof. Ingunn Holen, Department of Oncology and Metabolism, University of Sheffield, UK
Tumour cell dormancy in bone – role in breast cancer relapse

Host: Kaisa Ivaska (kakaiv@utu.fi)

 

December 12th

Prof. Cecilia Sahlgren, Åbo Akademi University, Turku Finland
Mechanics and mechanisms of vascular tissue architecture and homeostasis

Host: Jyrki Heino (jyheino@utu.fi)