Computational and Molecular Methodologies for Life Sciences – CompLifeSci

Directors and Contact Addresses:

Professor Ion Petre
Computer Science, Turku Centre for Computer Science and Åbo Akademi University
E-mail: ipetre@abo.fi

Professor Tero Aittokallio
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku and Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM), University of Helsinki
E-mail: teanai@utu.fi

Adjunct Professor Riikka Lund
Finnish Functional Genomics Centre and Biomedical Epigenomics, Turku Centre for Biotechnology, University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University
E-mail: riikka.lund@utu.fi

Adjunct Professor Tiina A. Salminen
Department of Biochemistry, Åbo Akademi University
E-mail: tiina.salminen@abo.fi

Description of the research programme

Research Groups (22)

Data Mining and Modeling for Systems Biology and PharmacologyDepartment of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku; and Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM), University of Helsinki, Prof. Tero Aittokallio (teanai (at) utu.fi)

COSPHAR: Computational Systems Pharmacology Turku Collegium for Science and Medicine (TCSM), Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku; and Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM), University of Helsinki, Adj. Prof. Jing Tang
(jing.tang (at) utu.fi)

Computational Modeling and Simulation Computer Science, Turku Centre for Computer Science and Åbo Akademi University, Prof. Ion Petre (ipetre (at) abo.fi)

Finnish Functional Genomics Centre and Biomedical Epigenomics Turku Centre for Biotechnology, University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University, Adj. Prof. Riikka Lund (riikka.lund (at) utu.fi)

Structural Bioinformatics Laboratory Biochemistry, Faculty of Science and Engineering
Åbo Akademi University, Prof. Mark S. Johnson, (johnson4 (at) abo.fi), Adj. Prof. Tiina A. Salminen (tiina.salminen (at) abo.fi), Prof. (acting; 1.9.2015-31.12.2018) Outi Salo-Ahen (outi.salo-ahen (at) abo.fi), Dr. Jukka Lehtonen (Biocenter Finland), (jukka.lehtonen (at) abo.fi)

Mobile DNA and Next-Generation Phylogenomics
Department of Biology, University of Turku, Prof. Harri Savilahti (harri.savilahti (at) utu.fi), Dr. Pere Puigbò (pere.puigbo (at) utu.fi)

Epiproteomics Turku Centre for Biotechnology, Åbo Akademi University & Lund University, FiDiPro Prof. Peter James (peter.james (at) immun.lth.se; peter.james (at) btk.fi)

Turku BioNLP Group
Department of Information Technology, University of Turku and Turku Centre for Computer Science (TUCS), Prof. Tapio Salakoski (tapio.salakoski (at) utu.fi), Ass.Prof. Filip Ginter (ginter (at) cs.utu.fi)

Algorithmics of Data Science
Department of Information Technology
University of Turku, Ass. Prof. Tapio Pahikkala (tapio.pahikkala (at) utu.fi)

Tuning PET Imaging Performance of Biomolecules with Chemistry
Turku PET Centre, Docent Xiang-Guo Li (xiali (at) utu.fi)

Bioinformatics Software
Computer Science, Åbo Akademi and Turku Centre for Computer Science, Adj. Prof. Vladimir Rogojin (vrogojin (at) abo.fi)

Molecular Mechanisms of Transcription
Department of Biochemistry, University of Turku, Docent Georgiy Belogurov (gebelo (at) utu.fi)

Antibiotic Biosynthesis Enzymes
Department of Biochemistry, University of Turku, Dr. Mikko Metsä-Ketelä (mianme (at) utu.fi), Dr. Jarmo Niemi (jarnie (at) utu.fi)

Structural Studies of Proteins
Turku Centre for Biotechnology, University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University, Adj. Prof. Tassos Papageorgiou (tassos.papageorgiou (at) btk.fi)

Structure-Based Drug Design
Joint Biotechnology Laboratory (JBL), Department of Chemistry, University of Turku, Assoc. Prof. Anton Zavialov (antzav (at) utu.fi)

Evolution & Adaptive Dynamics Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku, Adj. Prof. Kalle Parvinen (kalparvi (at) utu.fi)

Associated members and groups