Computational and Molecular Methodologies for Life Sciences – CompLifeSci

Directors and Contact Addresses:

Professor Ion Petre
Computer Science, Turku Centre for Computer Science and Åbo Akademi University
E-mail: ipetre@abo.fi

Professor Tero Aittokallio
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku and Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM), University of Helsinki
E-mail: teanai@utu.fi

Adjunct Professor Riikka Lund
Finnish Functional Genomics Centre and Biomedical Epigenomics, Turku Centre for Biotechnology, University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University
E-mail: riikka.lund@utu.fi

Adjunct Professor Tiina A. Salminen
Department of Biochemistry, Åbo Akademi University
E-mail: tiina.salminen@abo.fi

Description of the research programme

Research Groups (22)

Data Mining and Modeling for Systems Biology and Pharmacology 
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku; and Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM), University of Helsinki, Prof. Tero Aittokallio (teanai@utu.fi)

COSPHAR: Computational Systems Pharmacology
Turku Collegium for Science and Medicine (TCSM), Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku; and Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM), University of Helsinki, Adj. Prof. Jing Tang
(jing.tang@utu.fi)

Computational Modeling and Simulation
Computer Science, Turku Centre for Computer Science and Åbo Akademi University, Prof. Ion Petre (ipetre@abo.fi)

Finnish Functional Genomics Centre and Biomedical Epigenomics
Turku Centre for Biotechnology, University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University, Adj. Prof. Riikka Lund (riikka.lund@utu.fi)

Structural Bioinformatics Laboratory
Biochemistry, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Åbo Akademi University, Prof. Mark S. Johnson, (johnson4@abo.fi), Adj. Prof. Tiina A. Salminen (tiina.salminen (at) abo.fi), Prof. (acting; 1.9.2015-31.12.2018) Outi Salo-Ahen (outi.salo-ahen (at) abo.fi), Dr. Jukka Lehtonen (Biocenter Finland), (jukka.lehtonen@abo.fi)

Mobile DNA and Next-Generation Phylogenomics. 
Department of Biology, University of Turku, Prof. Harri Savilahti (harri.savilahti (at) utu.fi), Dr. Pere Puigbò (pere.puigbo (at) utu.fi), Dr. Manu Tamminen (manu.tamminen@utu.fi)

Epiproteomics 
Turku Centre for Biotechnology, Åbo Akademi University & Lund University, FiDiPro Prof. Peter James (peter.james (at) immun.lth.se; peter.james@btk.fi)

Turku BioNLP Group 
Department of Information Technology, University of Turku and Turku Centre for Computer Science (TUCS), Prof. Tapio Salakoski (tapio.salakoski (at) utu.fi), Ass.Prof. Filip Ginter (ginter@cs.utu.fi)

Algorithmics of Data Science. 
Department of Information Technology, University of Turku, Ass. Prof. Tapio Pahikkala (tapio.pahikkala@utu.fi)

Tuning PET Imaging Performance of Biomolecules with Chemistry 
Turku PET Centre, Docent Xiang-Guo Li (xiali@utu.fi)

Bioinformatics Software
Computer Science, Åbo Akademi and Turku Centre for Computer Science, Adj. Prof. Vladimir Rogojin (vrogojin@abo.fi)

Molecular mechanisms of diseases
University of Turku, Dr. Ulla Pentikäinen (ulla.pentikainen@utu.fi)

Molecular Mechanisms of Transcription
Department of Biochemistry, University of Turku, Docent Georgiy Belogurov (gebelo@utu.fi)

Antibiotic Biosynthesis Enzymes
Department of Biochemistry, University of Turku, Dr. Mikko Metsä-Ketelä (mianme (at) utu.fi), Dr. Jarmo Niemi (jarnie@utu.fi)

Structural Studies of Proteins
Turku Centre for Biotechnology, University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University, Adj. Prof. Tassos Papageorgiou (tassos.papageorgiou@btk.fi)

Structure-Based Drug Design
Joint Biotechnology Laboratory (JBL), Department of Chemistry, University of Turku, Assoc. Prof. Anton Zavialov (antzav@utu.fi)

Evolution & Adaptive Dynamics
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Turku, Adj. Prof. Kalle Parvinen (kalparvi@utu.fi)

Precision Nanomedicine and Diagnostic Group
Pharmaceutical Sciences Laboratory, Åbo Akademi University, Assistant Prof. Hongbo Zhang (hongbo.zhang@abo.fi)

Neuronal Signalling Lab
Turku Centre for Biotechnology, University of Turku and Åbo Akademi University,
Adj. Prof.  Michael Courtney (michael.courtney@utu.fi)

Associated members and groups